Sunday, August 14, 2011

EU - Economic and Monetary Union (EMU)

In June 1988 the European Council confirmed the objective of the progressive realisation of Economic and Monetary Union (EMU). It mandated a committee chaired by Jacques Delors, the then President of the European Commission, to study and propose concrete stages leading to this union.
The committee was composed of the governors of the then European Community (EC) national central banks; Alexandre Lamfalussy, the then General Manager of the Bank for International Settlements (BIS); Niels Thygesen, professor of economics, Denmark; and Miguel Boyer, the then President of the Banco Exterior de EspaƱa.
The resulting Delors Report proposed that economic and monetary union should be achieved in three discrete but evolutionary steps.


No comments:

Post a Comment